Module 2: Allocating projects

<< Back to Module 1

Forward to Module 3 >>


In this module:

  • Inviting users to projects
  • Accepting invitations
  • Editing, upgrading, and removing users from projects
  • Deleting and modifying projects
Prefer to read along?

Enable captions by clicking the “CC” button along the YouTube timeline or read the full transcript below.


Module 2 practice quiz

Back to top


Show Notes № 2

Back to top


Quiz answers

Back to top


Video transcript

If you wish to follow along with the script, or just prefer reading, a complete transcript of the video can be seen below.

Welcome to Module 2 of the Delighted Admin Certification: Allocating Projects.

Now that you’ve identified your users, let’s give them some projects to work on! Projects are entirely independent from users. This means if you delete a project, you will not accidentally delete any users joined to the project (and vice versa). While independent, users and projects are symbiotic; like a violin and a violinist, a timpani and timpanist, a conductor and their baton. There’s not much point in having one without the other. So let’s match them up!

In this module, we’ll learn about: Inviting users to projects, accepting invitations, editing, upgrading, and removing users from projects, and deleting and modifying projects.

Users are invited, by Admins, to join specific projects. This begs a question, “Which comes first, the project or the user?” The answer is . . . (roll the timpanis please): The Project! To put it succinctly, you can’t invite someone to a survey that doesn’t exist.

Well, that’s not entirely true. You can make someone an Admin user and they can create their own projects at will. However, this freedom is not afforded to Limited and Standard users who are totally dependent on you (or your fellow Admins) for their survey projects. 

For Standard and Limited users, you’re faced with two options. You can: One, assign Limited or Standard users to already existing projects, or two, create “starter” projects from scratch for Standard users to begin working with (Limited users don’t get to play.)

To invite a user to an existing project:

  1. Choose Users from the Account menu
  2. Enter their email address
  3. Select their Role from the drop-down menu (either Limited, Standard, or Admin)
  4. Open the Select projects dropdown menu to assign projects (This step only applies to Standard and Limited users, since admins have access to all projects in your account)
  5. In the Select projects box, leave projects unchecked to deny access, check a box to give access to projects one at a time, or select the project box to add or remove all of the projects in a single click
  6. Click “Send invite” to, well, send your invite!

Say you want a Standard user to set up their own project, rather than doing it for them. What we need to do in this case is create a “starter” project for them, consisting of just the shell of a project.

To create a Starter project, simply create a new project, select the project type, then jump back into an existing project to assign that project to a user. To learn more about this process, check out Admin Extras (linked in the Show Notes below this video). When you invite a new user, the invite will be sent via email. The new user will click “Join” in the invitation email, and then click “Join” to complete the process once logged in!

As an Admin, you’ll always be able to see every project, make any necessary changes, and even reassign a project if a Standard user leaves your company or drops the ball on a project. (The show must go on!)

To remove a user, edit status, or change the project mix:

  1. Return to the Users page
  2. Click Remove to delete a user (and follow the prompts)
  3. Click Edit next to a user's name to reopen the Edit user window 
  4. Update user status (say from Limited to Standard) from the drop-down menu
  5. Add or remove projects for the user in the projects section. (New invitations will be sent as required.). 
  6. Click Save changes

There will be times when old projects will have served their purpose. And, because your projects are capped by your plan, creating new ones from scratch isn’t always cost effective. Thankfully, there are alternatives. You can: Modify an existing project, or delete a unused project, and create a new project in its place.

Delighted’s advice is to Create a new project when you wish to: Change the survey type—NPS, CSAT, CES, etc., survey a new touchpoint in the customer journey, or separate new data entirely from any previous feedback.

Otherwise, modifying an existing project has its merits. Modify an existing project when you are happy with the existing survey type and, either: You are asking the same basic questions to a new demographic, or you are running a relational NPS, CSAT or similar survey and it’s time to send again. In the first case, you can use properties to identify which demographic you’re surveying and filter your older data by date to isolate each audience's responses. Clever, right? For the second case, there is little reason to have one project called NPS Q3 2022 and another named NPS Q1 2023. Use a single NPS project for both and tap into Properties and Date filters to distinguish one survey outreach from the next—which is also very clever.

Delete old, sad, tired, or defunct projects and create new ones in their wake. Careful! Anyone with Admin access can delete some of your most valuable projects! (Just sayin’.) If you are deleting a project, download its data to a CSV or Excel file first. (See Exporting and Sharing Data in Module 6: Sharing, Reporting & Acting on Feedback for more info.)

To delete sad, old, and tired projects: 

  1. Open the Projects menu and click the Gear icon next to the project you wish to delete
  2. Choose Delete this project from the Edit Project window
  3. After reviewing some severe warnings about the Perils of deleting a project, click Delete this project (without a care in the world)

Deleting a project is fairly drastic. When you click Delete this project you will be faced with a very serious looking screen detailing everything that will be removed if you continue. To succinctly summarize the list—“All is lost!”

Ah, but is it? If you click Delete this project and instantly regret it, Delighted will give you a last chance to Undo the damage! (Thank you, Delighted.) However, if you close this notification by clicking the X there's no going back. (Sorry.)

If you do hit Undo and restore the project, it will reappear in the Projects menus for all of the users that were formerly assigned to it—like nothing ever happened. You'll also receive a comforting email telling you that all is well.

It’s time to test your skills! I’ll give you a scenario, and you decide if it calls for modification of an existing project, or creation of a new one.

Here’s the first scenario: Eta, who runs Hem & Stitch’s HR team, just got wind that Hem & Stitch has a Delighted license. They want to set up an eNPS project to measure employee satisfaction with the company. This will be the first time that Hem & Stitch has ever measured eNPS. What should Eta do?

Eta should create a new project, since this survey will use a new survey type!

Now let’s take a look at Beta’s situation. In the last module, we learned that Beta is a Support Manager for Hem & Stitch. Beta wants to make a survey just like the existing CSAT one, but with all new Additional Questions for the new quarter. Should Beta start a new project, or modify the existing CSAT?

Since Beta is just adjusting the Additional Questions, modifying the project is the way to go! No previous data will be lost, and this way Beta can compare old responses to this quarter’s feedback.

Great work! In this module, we covered: Inviting users to projects, accepting invitations, editing, upgrading, and removing users from projects, and deleting and modifying projects.

We’ll see you soon for the next module!

Back to top


<< Back to Module 1

Forward to Module 3 >>

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us