Throttling

Throttling automatically ensures that the same person, identified by their email address or phone number, isn’t sent or shown a Delighted survey more than once in a set time period.

In this section


How the throttle period works

Before sending or displaying a survey, the throttle period is compared against the exact amount of time (counted in days) from the last time that person was sent or shown a survey from the same project. If the throttle period has not elapsed, we will skip sending.

We will not retry sending if the survey is throttled. This ensures that you have full control over the recipients and timing of your surveying without worrying about accidental over-surveying.

Back to top


Changing the throttle period

To adjust the throttle period for a specific project:

  1. Click on the project name in the top left-hand corner
  2. Click on the gear icon to the right of the project name
  3. Adjust the “Survey throttling” dropdown to the desired time period
  4. Click “Save changes”

By default, the throttle period is set to 30 days. The dropdown menu includes the following options:

  • 1 month (30 days)
  • 3 months (90 days)
  • 6 months (180 days)
  • 1 year (365 days)

If you’re not seeing a throttle period that works for you and your team, please send us a note! We can help set up a custom throttle in your account.

Back to top

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us